My Relationship With Food

My relationship with food isn’t the best as I’m not as healthy as I’d like to be but I’m hoping to improve it. My previous attempts of trying to eat more nutritious meals have failed due to the fact that I don’t prepare my meals in advance and I know I can get away with eating crap because my metabolism is still quite fast as I’m in my 20’s. However, I’m aware this isn’t going to last forever. My metabolism will slow down as I get older, I won’t be getting at least forty minutes of incidental exercise on the days I go to Uni (walking to the bus stop, walking around uni and walking home from the bus stop) and I’d probably put myself at high risk of developing diabetes if I continued eating what I eat now.

I must admit, I’m definitely not as bad as I used to be which was pretty bad. I used to eat junk food, whether it be a block of chocolate, a packet of lollies, McFlurries from McDonald’s, pizza and more, at least twice a day. As one would expect, I felt really gross afterwards. I’d be bloated, have trouble going to the bathroom (I sound like an old person), my stomach would feel so sore and gross, I’d feel sleepy and lack energy…the list could go on for a while. Truth be told, I still eat that much rubbish about two to three (sometimes four) times a week. But I’m happy I’ve arrived at the place I’m at now as it is a big achievement. However, now I want to take it to the next level. Just like my gradual approach to incorporating more frequent workouts in my life as discussed in this entry, I want to gradually take it to the next level.

I think my first step is to collect (affordable) recipe ideas that are different to what I already eat. There was a period in my life where I kept on making stir fry’s because they’re cheap and easy. I became so tired of eating them. I still enjoy them, but not as frequently as I ate them before. I’ve noticed that a lot of the really healthy recipes I find contain ingredients that are too expensive to buy frequently as, let’s face it, I’m on a student budget and I do have other things I want to spend my money on (and save).

So, I believe the next step for me is to start with one new recipe and then make that. When I’ve eaten all of that, find a new one and buy the ingredients for that. And so on and so forth. The aim is to learn how to make a wide variety of healthy meals.

I find Instagram and Facebook a great source of recipe ideas. One of my favorite Facebook pages is the Julia and Libby page. It’s a page run by two sisters where one is a ‘Clinical Nutritionist and the other is one in the making’. They post healthy recipes ideas regularly that are also found on the page or on their blog.

I hope you stay tuned to see how my gradual approach to eating well goes!

Matija

Leave a Reply

