Budget Fashionista – Summer Looks for Less

I’m a bit of a budget fashionista. I don’t like to spend a lot of money on one particular item of clothing. There are various reasons why. The first relates to my status as a full time student. I currently average casual to part time hours at my retail job and therefore if I was to buy everything I liked then there would be a lot of weeks where I don’t save anything. Unlike a lot of Gen Y people, I am actually interested in saving my money. I’m not one of those people who are like “Oh my gosh, I only have $12.75 cents in my bank account”. I’ve heard these stories sooo many times. Some people work more than I do and appear to have less. Sydney house prices scare me too. Today somebody told me that people basically have to starve to afford a deposit for a house. Although I’m not looking to buy a house or apartment soon, it’s still something that’s at the back of my head that makes its way to the front every once in a while.

I don’t mind spending money on items such as leather wallets or designer watches. After all, these items are of a high quality and they do last a while.  I’ve had a real leather Oroton wallet for about 5 years now. If I was to buy a real leather Prada or Givenchy bag I know I could have it forever. But for now, as these bags are a lot more expensive than a designer leather wallet, I’ll save those purchases for later on in life when I work more than 10-16 hours a week.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that although I don’t spend ridiculous amounts of money on clothes, there are some things I don’t mind splurging on and I’ll save the expensive stuff, like a Givenchy Antigona bag in black leather *drool*, for a later stage in my life. I guess you could say I’m a realist, not an idealist. And that I don’t live on credit.

Despite my budget tendencies, I do look at clothing from a WIDE range of stores and designers because they are a GREAT source of inspiration. You don’t need to buy expensive clothes to emulate a luxe look. So, keeping all this in mind, I’ve decided to share some pictures of one luxe top I recently fell in love with and some budget friendly alternatives for it. I also decided to include some affordable accessory ideas for it.

Eska Alikai Qarn Python leather top from Splice Boutique $259

As mentioned in previous entries, I’m a little bit addicted to Instagram and Splice Boutique is one of my favourite accounts. I drooled as soon as I saw the top in the outfit below. I felt as if I was star struck. It’s just so luxe and beautiful. It would be perfect for summer with a pair of colourful shorts or even a plain pair. I would wear it with gold accessories. It’s so versatile it can be worn from day to night.

ImageNow for the cheaper alternatives…

Beginning Boutique Heat Seeker Top in White $39.00

Image

Glassons Open Arm Muscle Tank in White $19.99 

Image

Team with…

Sportsgirl Pretty Quirky Cord Shorts $79.95 

Sportsgirl PRETTY QUIRKY CORD SHORTS 79.95

Add the Following Bag or Accessories…

Colette By Colette Hayman Stripe Cuff $9.95

Colette Stripe Cuff 9.95

Or layer some thin bangles like this Sportsgirl Slimeline Clean Bangle $12.99

Image

Colette by Colette Hayman Avery Weave Hardcase Clutch $34.95

Avery Hardcase Clutch

Almost all the items listed here are under $50! Stay tuned for some more wallet friendly outfit ideas!

Matija

3 thoughts on “Budget Fashionista – Summer Looks for Less

Leave a Reply

