Butternut Squash (Pumpkin), Chickpea and Kale Curry

This is my first ever recipe post! Today I made a Butternut Squash (Pumpkin), Chickpea and Kale Curry. I put pumpkin in brackets because butternut squash is called butternut pumpkin in Australia, which is where I live. I saw this recipe on Cook Smarts a while back and I’ve been wanting try it, primarily because I knew I didn’t have to go to great lengths to find the ingredients in the recipe. From the description on the website, I gathered that this curry is inspired by Thai cuisine but doesn’t use traditional Thai ingredients. The recipe can be found here and I thought I’d provide the details on how to make below. (Note: I didn’t provide the links below, it is how they appear on the website). 

Serves: 4

Ingredients

Prep (can be done earlier in the day or assigned to a helper)

  1. Onion / Butternut Squash / Kale – Prep as directed
  2. Chickpeas – Rinse and drain

Make

  1. Heat a >3 quart saucepan or Dutch oven over med-high heat. Pour in half a can of coconut milk and whisk in 2 tbs. of curry paste. Simmer for ~1 minute
  2. Add chopped onions and simmer for another ~3 minutes. Next add butternut squash, kale stems, chickpeas with remainder of coconut milk, stock, fish sauce, and brown sugar. Cover and bring to a boil
  3. Lower heat to a simmer, and cook uncovered for an additional 8 to 10 minutes. Add in kale leaves. Cook for another 2 to 3 minutes
  4. Finish curry with juice from half a lime. Season to taste with more fish sauce (if it’s not salty enough), brown sugar (if it’s not sweet enough), or lime juice (if it’s not tart enough). Serve with extras such as cilantro and lime wedges

 Image

Image

This is a photo of how the finished product looks like on the website:

Image

And below is a photo of how mine turned out:

Image

I don’t think my photo does it much justice, the liquid looks a bit too watery but in real life it wasn’t. This curry tasted really good, I was quite suprised that I was capable of making such a tasty dish! I didn’t eat it with rice but I think it would taste good with white rice. I’m not quite sure how ‘clean’ this dish is in regards to clean eating however I think it would be quite healthy compared to store bought food. I hope you all give this delicious recipe a try!

Matija 

 

Leave a Reply

