Quinoa and Salmon Salad

Today I made this delicious and healthy salad! For the past few weeks I’ve been making more of an effort to feel less bloated because I’m almost always bloated or I almost always feel a bit heavy. My house is a sauna in this hot Australian summer (no air conditioning or any other form of cooling) so it’s very easy to feel lazy towards putting effort into making a healthy meal and consequently, eat whatever – even if it isn’t healthy.

I’m not that great at improvising meals, I am good at following recipes but I don’t experiment enough (yet) to make things from scratch. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this salad! I’ll definitely make it again! 

Image

Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients

Enough cooked white quinoa you think you need so you don’t go hungry

5-7 stalks of flat leaf parsley, ends trimmed and chopped roughly (but it also depends on how much quinoa you’re using, you don’t want the parsley to overpower the quinoa but you do want it to add enough flavour)

1/4 of a Hass avocado, chopped into cubes 

Half a lime 

A few pieces of smoked salmon cut into thin strips 

Method

Place all the ingredients in a bowl and stir. Squeeze some lime juice and stir again. Taste a bit to see if you need more lime and repeat until you think you have added enough for your liking.

Note: As the smoked salmon is salty and oily I found I didn’t need to add any salt or oil to it. 

I actually ended up eating too much of it so now, ironically, I do feel a bit bloated haha. 

Hope you enjoy it this simple but delicious, healthy recipe! 

Matija 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Quinoa and Salmon Salad

  1. yum this looks so delicious and light! the best thing about cooking up a batch of quinoa is that a little goes a long way and you can keep it in a fridge and add whatever you like to it! its really nice to use for salads, great with bbq chicken, great with just about anything! thanks for the recipie!

Leave a Reply

