The Wolf of Wall Street – Margot Robbie and Naomi’s Style

Last week I watched The Wolf of Wall Street for the first time. I do think it was a pretty good movie (it definitely wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea) and I do want to watch it again but I will avoid talking about it too much here because a lot of people still haven’t seen it.

Margot Robbie plays Naomi Lapaglia, who eventually becomes Jordan Belfort’s (Leonardo Di Caprio’s character) wife in the film. Margot is an Australian actress who used to be on an Australian show called Neighbours. I was never a massive fan of the show or anything but I did watch it on and off a few times over the years. Margot’s character was a teenager called Donna Freedman and when I did watch the show, I did get to experience some of her acting. So you can only imagine my shock when I heard her speak in this amazing Brooklyn accent for the first time in the movie. I was hooked!! She played the role of Naomi so well.

Her character in The Wolf of Wall Street isn’t exactly someone I can relate to but I do love her style and she just has this air that I can’t really describe about her. The film is set in the late 80’s and 90’s and Naomi probably comes in around the 90’s. Her style is very 90’s Herve Leger, Gianni Versace, Gucci and Dolce and Gabbana; it’s kind of reminiscent of some of Fran Fine’s outfits in 90’s sitcom ‘The Nanny’. There’s one particular scene in the beginning of her relationship with Jordan where she’s wearing head to toe Versace and it represents how wealthy her character is. As the years go by, her style changes which signifies she is getting tired of her husband’s ways and her relationship.

Here are some shots I could find on the internet of the film. There probably isn’t that many out there at the moment because, as I said, a lot of people haven’t seen the movie (well in Australia at least) but I’ve posted what I could find. I can’t find one of the head to toe Versace outfit or one where she wears what I think may be a Dolce and Gabbana floral dress which I absolutely adore.

Hope you enjoy!

Matija

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Images from:

 http://www.delhistyleblog.com/2014/01/margot-robbie-wolf-of-wall-street-style.html http://fabulouspeonies.blogspot.com.au/2014/01/the-wolf-of-wall-street.html http://www.cinemazzi.com/margot-robbie-90s-fashion-the-wolf-of-wall-street-wardrobe/ http://www.thewire.com/entertainment/2013/12/wolf-wall-street-costumer-importance-ties-and-challenge-underwear/356389/ http://www.businessinsider.com.au/alan-wilzig-introduced-wolf-of-wall-street-jordan-belfort-to-wife-nadine-2014-1

Leave a Reply

