Maybe it’s time I tried a little harder…

Next week will be week 13 of the Uni semester and I honestly can’t wait for it to be over! I’ve been so busy and although I very much prefer being busy over having nothing to do, I can’t wait to have a little extra time to do mundane activities I enjoy such as fruit and vegetable shopping, browsing around the shops for things like a shoe rack and, having the occasional sleep in! I also can’t wait to get some exercise in! My parents won’t let me exercise on the street at night and as I’m not a morning person (waking up at 7 is considered early for me but average to others), I may have time do get some exercise done during the day, provided it doesn’t rain. 

There are some things in my life that I feel as if I need to try harder on and one of them is definitely stretching and my posture. Currently, my back and legs, particularly my knees, are in so much pain. I think there are a few reasons as to why this is the case:

– I don’t stretch often

– My part time job is at a busy fruit and vegetable market and my shifts are 10 hours and 7 hours long. I stand almost the whole time. I’m 176.5 centimetres tall so I crouch over the counter or the other locations at the shop I work in. I know I should put more effort into my posture at work but I get very lazy… Anyways, I’ve been working here for almost six and a half years now and it’s starting to take its toll on my back, my joints and particularly my knees and ankles!!!!!!! 

– I probably need new orthotics. I’ve had orthotics for a few years now however I think the pair I currently wear have done their job and therefore, it’s time to get a new pair catered for the current situation my feet are facing. I actually feel more sore after I wear them and I think this may be impacting on my knees and ankles. Sigh, there goes another few hundred dollars…

– I often don’t make an effort with my posture. It’s so simple yet I don’t do it. (Maybe apart of my strategy to better back health will include me reminding myself of how simple it is and how it will benefit me.) 

So, perhaps it’s time to make an action plan to have a better back, legs and joints. Before I do this, I have to remind myself of something:

I need this. And I have to work hard to get it so this probably means that I’ll have to continuously remind myself why I need to work hard, which will hopefully help me to continue working harder. And I’ll probably have to do this for the rest of my life. Also, at the end of the day I will be the one benefiting from this.

So it’s time to formulate a plan. I’ll keep you updated on it! 

Matija 

 

Leave a Reply

