How the Health Revolution Created Another Form of Covetable Style

During my previous stint at university I often wore my gym clothes to class and I was often the only person who ever did. I mainly wore leggings from Supre, a random t-shirt or singlet and any old jumper. This attire is a stark contrast to the gym clothes I see females wearing at university these days.

It’s normal to see females wearing a pair of sleek Lorna Jane leggings, fluro trainers and a trendy t-shirt or singlet of some sort (like in the picture below). In fact, wearing such stylish attire is a fashion statement in itself. This is definitely reflective of the increase in interest in leading a healthy lifestyle that occurred whilst I took a break from university. I’ve even noticed it’s normal to wear gym clothes out and about, as long as they’re trendy.

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 1.49.02 pm

Source

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 5.03.46 pm

Source

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 5.12.51 pm

Source

My friends often remark that cool gym clothes are expensive and I’m well aware of this also. Despite being able to afford this gym gear, I still don’t believe they’re a prerequisite for a successful workout.  Although I’m not opposed to purchasing these clothes, I’m quite content with wearing my comparatively daggy gym clothes. The only expensive workout gear I buy are shoes.

If you’re on a budget and want to look stylish whilst working out, here are some stylish and affordable workout outfits for winter (minus the shoes).

Outfit One-2

Jacket T30 Zip Front Performance Athletic Jacket in Black $49 from Target Leggings T30 3/4 Performance Leggings in Aztec print $35 from Target T-shirt Women’s Essential Rib T-Shirt in Black $5 from Target 

 Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 4.48.23 pm

T-Shirt Burn Tee in BB White Spot $19.95 from Cotton On Crop Top Attack Yoga Crop in Sunset Peach $19.95 from Cotton On Leggings Printed Core 7/8 in Active Stellar Leopard $29.95 from Cotton On 

Matija

Leave a Reply

