My Top Three Healthy Snacks

I’ve been making a conscious effort to eat healthier and I’ve been making some progress. I still have my days where I eat a lot of rubbish and end up bloated, but I make an effort to engage in activities that will burn some of the excess energy I’ve consumed. For example, if the weather permits, instead of getting a lift to the station, I walk there where I then catch the train to university. This clocks up half an hour on my incidental exercise meter. One product of these combined efforts is that I’ve noticed I feel lighter and less sluggish. I’ve also noticed that I look a little leaner. I’m not trying to lose weight but at the end of the day, any changes of this nature will inevitably lead to some weight loss.

I’ve noticed it’s important to snack smart in between meals to avoid feeling ravenous, which can lead to over eating. Here are my top three snacks. 

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 10.58.07 pm

Nuts

I often read that nuts are a great snack. For me, I find they’re awesome to eat in between meals as they have enough fiber and protein to keep me going until my next proper meal. I consume around two handfuls of nuts a day: mixed nuts, almonds and cashews. I’ve also started bringing them to university. They’re great to munch on when I start to feel a little peckish in my two hour tutorials or seminars. I stick to plain nuts as the flavoured ones are often cooked in unhealthy ingredients and don’t make me feel so good.

The knowledge that nuts are full of healthy fats with a load of benefits make me feel good when I eat them. I just have to be careful not to over indulge as they are high in calories and, most importantly, I don’t want to get sick of them!

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 10.34.50 pm

Strawberries

Strawberries are my favourite fruit as they don’t make me bloat. I know it may sound funny but I think some fruits make me feel bloated, for example mandarins. Every time I eat strawberries I feel as if they have an acidic affect that helps with my digestion. I usually eat them with nuts and have a cup of green or peppermint tea ready to drink a few minutes after I’ve eaten them. After eating this, I feel as if I’m providing my body with healthy fats and vitamins and minerals.

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 10.51.27 pm

Carrots 

I must admit, carrots are on my list because they’re a great food to snack on when I can’t be bothered preparing something that requires a lot of effort. I just wash and dry them really well. Carrots are quite filling. I sometimes eat them with a handful of nuts. I find doing this keeps me satisfied until I’m ready to eat my next proper meal. I also feel good because I know that snacking on vegetables is a great way to increase my vegetable and subsequent nutrient intake as I sometimes go a few days without eating many vegetables.

On a random note – potential gluten intolerance?

I still have a long way to go with eating healthier. I recently got a blood test to see if I have a gluten intolerance to help explain why I’m often bloated. The tests revealed I do not. I asked my doctor ‘Why am I always bloated then? Do I eat too much?’ He said that maybe I do and added that certain vegetables and beans can make people feel bloated. I guess it’s time to do some research into vegetables can cause bloating… 

Matija

Pictures obtained at the following websites:

Image of nuts found here, image of strawberries found here and image of carrots found here

Leave a Reply

